Extension Logo
Extension Logo
University of Minnesota Extension

Indigenizing economic growth

An Anishinaabe Native American illustration.

What do you know about American Indian communities in Minnesota — and their ongoing work to build strong economies and resilient communities? There are 11 sovereign nations in Minnesota. These nations are responsible for governing and making decisions that shape the priorities and future of their tribes.

Sovereign Nations in Minnesota 

  • Asabiikone-zaag'igan (Bois Forte Band of Chippewa)
  • Nagaajiwanaang (Fond Du Lac Reservation)
  • Nagaajiwanaang (Grand Portage Band of Chippewa Indians)
  • Gaa-zagaskwaajimekaag (Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe)
  • Cansa'yapi (Lower Sioux Indian Community)
  • Gaa-zagaskwaajimekaag (Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe)
  • Tinta Winta (Prairie Island Indian Community)
  • Miskwaagamiiwi-zaaga'iganiing (Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians)
  • Mdewakanton (Shakopee Mdewakaton Sioux (Dakota) Community)
  • Pezihutazizi (Upper Sioux Community)
  • Gaa-waababiganikaag (White Earth Reservation)

The content on this page will help you expand your knowledge about tribal history and learn about topics important to tribal communities.

Growing tribal economies

Below, discover how tribal communities are focused on their local economies.

Note: Video recordings are from a conference hosted by Extension's Minnesota Indigenous Leadership Network to facilitate connections and cooperation within Indian Country in Minnesota in November 2021.


The Extension Department of Community Development is grateful to the U.S. Economic Development Administration for funding that makes this work possible.

Page survey

© 2023 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.