Parents Forever™ Online Course faqs
The following are questions about our online course. You may also be interested in frequently asked questions by families.
The online course costs $89.
Per Minnesota Statute 518.157, subd. 6, if a parent is determined by the court to be in forma pauperis (IFP), the parent is not required to pay the parent education program fee.
If you are IFP or cannot afford the course, see how to apply for a reduced fee for the online course.
Registration is easy! Follow the step-by-step instructions on the Parents Forever™ Online Course for Parents event page.
Access Parents Forever Online through Canvas
Once you are registered, you can access the course online through one of the following links:
Login to the course using the email address and password for the guest account you created during the registration process. If you have forgotten the password to your guest account, please contact the 24/7 Technology Helpline at 612-301-4357.
The time spent on the course will vary by individual. The Minnesota Supreme Court recommends at least 8 hours of education to meet divorce education requirements. Plan to spend 8 hours at a minimum on the online course. Additional time should be spent looking at the recommended resources. See more about what content is covered in the online course: Parents Forever™ Online Course for Parents.
Completing the course
You can go in and out of the course as often as you like and complete at your own pace. Be sure to keep the internet ID and password you receive when you register.
Even though the online course has received official approval, not all judges/attorneys are familiar with the course. Even though most parents have not had difficulties getting the course approved, it is still recommended that you get the course approved by your judge/attorney before registering. It may help if you show them the online course approved by the Minnesota Supreme Court.
Court requirements vary state to state. As a general rule, the standards set by the Minnesota court system are the most extensive, both in terms of topics covered and hours of education offered. Unless your judge/attorney has required a specific course, there is a good chance that the Parents Forever™ Online Course for Parents will meet and exceed the standards set by your state's court system.
We recommend you discuss this course with your judge/attorney to get it approved before registering. Also, please note that there is a version specifically adapted for North Dakota parents.
Yes! After you completing each module, you will be asked to complete an online feedback form and quiz. After successfully completing all feedback forms and quizzes, you will be directed to a webpage to print off your certificate of participation. This certificate is what you need to show your judge, court personnel, or attorney if the course was court-ordered.
The software used for this course is easy to use. Once you get into the course everything should be self-explanatory.
Online courses are not for everyone. You need a reliable computer, specific software and internet access. To help weigh whether the online or in-person version is better for you, see in-person and online course comparison.