Extension Logo
Extension Logo
University of Minnesota Extension

4-H Hall of Fame welcomes Bill Svendsgaard

Karyn Santl in the University of Minnesota Extension Regional Office in Roseau, and Jennifer Skuza, the Extension associate dean for youth development, successfully nominated Bill Svendsgaard for the national 4-H Hall of Fame. He will be inducted on Oct. 2 in a ceremony in Chevy Chase, Maryland.

Svendsgaard retired from Extension in Hennepin County in 2002. He is known for creative arts and work with youth from marginalized communities. He and his wife, Aljean, have made dozens of gifts to the 4-H program and he leads a group preserving the history of 4-H through the U Archives and Minnesota History Center.

"Congratulations, Bill, on this prestigious honor," says Skuza. "You are an artist and a historian. Thank you for sharing your expertise and enthusiasm for Minnesota's youth through our 4-H Youth Development program." 

Bill Svendsgaard 2020 portrait with lush greenery behind him. He is wearing a suit jacket over a white shirt and a pink pocket hankerchief
Bill Svendsgaard in 2020, a few months before his induction into the National 4-H Hall of Fame.
Bill Svendsgaard in 1976 in front of a Hennepin County sign and holding a small 4-H flag
Bill Svendsgaard in 1976 as an urban 4-H Extension agent (educator) in Hennepin County

The National 4-H Hall of Fame inductees - Minnesota

T.A. “Dad” Erickson, 1st Minnesota State 4-H Leader, 1914-1940

Leonard Harkness, Minnesota State 4-H Leader, 1949-1980

Delores Andol, Roseau County 4-H Agent

Susanne Fisher, State 4-H staff; professor emeritus and retired assistant director, Florida 4-H program and chair, Department of 4-H and Other Youth Programs, University of Florida

David Pace, state 4-H staff, associate professor emeritus 4-H Youth Development educator 

Juanita Reed-Boniface, state 4-H staff, associate professor emeritus 4-H Youth Development educator

Bill Stevens, conservation manager, Federal Cartridge Company

Jim Kemp, retired 4-H agent and NAE4-HA president (nominated by NAE4-HA)

Wayne Carlson, state 4-H staff, associate professor, University of Minnesota; training consultant, Farm Credit Bank, St. Paul

William Svendgaard, professor emeritus, retired U of M Extension 4-H educator


Related topics: 4-H YD News Featured news
Page survey

© 2023 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.